City of Dewitt


Contact Information

Sue Leeming

Sue recently retired from the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, Energy (Department of Environmental Quality) where she served as Deputy Director, Office of External Relations, and Director of the Remediation and Redevelopment Division. She began her career at the DEQ in 1981 and has experience in environmental protection, water quality issues, brownfield redevelopment, and remediation/risk management of contaminated sites.

Sue holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Michigan State University Honors College in biology and zoology.

Sue has two children, Jill and Michael. Jill graduated from Grand Valley State University and lives with her husband, Justin Norcross, in Kentwood, MI. Michael also graduated from Grand Valley State University. He and his wife Cassandra live near Greenville, MI, and have two beautiful children, Mason and Ava.

Sue has lived in the DeWitt Area since 1987 and moved into the City of DeWitt in 1994.

Mayoral Duties Include:

  • The Mayor serves as the Chief Executive Officer of the City and the official head of the City for ceremonial purposes.
  • The Mayor is responsible for directing and supervising all administrative officers, except the City Attorney.
  • The Mayor presides at all Council meetings.
  • The Mayor has veto power in the case of a tie of the City Council.
Past Mayors:
  • William D. Buck – (1965-1966)
  • Elden T. Smith – (1966-1969)
  • Lawrence M. Keck – (1969-1972)
  • Raymond O. Dewitt – (1972-1973)
  • Murl J. Eastman – (1973-1976)
  • William E. Drouin – (1976-1980)
  • Lynn E. Thayer  – (1980-1989)
  • Gerald M. Nester  – (1989-1994)
  • Michael Towns – (1994-2001)
  • Paul Opsommer  – (2001-2006)
  • Jim Rundborg – (2007-2016)